SusCrop- ERA-NET

Cofund on Sustainable
Crop Production


Advisory Group

The work of the SusCrop Consortium is constantly supported by several experts, who provide advice and facilitate networking opportunities with external stakeholders during the lifetime of the Cofund action. These experts are Prof. Anne-Marte Tronsmo (Professor in Plant Pathology at the Norwegian University of Life Sciences and member of the FACCE-JPI Scientific Advisory Board), Dr. Aleksandra Malyska (Representative of Plants for the Future and member of the FACCE-JPI Stakeholder Advisory Board) and Dr. Karin Metzlaff (Executive Director of the European Plant Science Organisation).

Prof Tronsmo is Professor in Plant Pathology at the Norwegian University of Life Sciences (NMBU) and member of the FACCE-JPI Scientific Advisory Board. Before that, she was employed at the Norwegian Plant Protection Institute for 10 years. She served as the University’s Pro Vic-Chancellor and head of the study board during the implementation of the Bologna system, and the restructuring of the study program.

Her research has a strong focus on plant pathology, ranging from fungal diseases to winter stress in agricultural and horticultural plants. Since the establishment of the Norwegian Scientific Committee for Food Safety (VKM) in 2004, she has been a member of the committee´s Plant Health panel. Formerly she was the President of the Norwegian Society of Plant Pathology and represented this society in the International Society of Plant Pathology and the European Federation in Plant Pathology. She has been a member of a number of panels and committees at the research council and ministry level, representing the interests of agriculture and plant breeding scientists. As part of her current position as a professor at the Norwegian University of Life Sciences her research also looks at adaptation of crops to future climates and spans crops grown in Norway as well as in African countries.

Dr. Amrit Nanda is a representative of the European Technology Platform (ETP) ‘Plants for the Future’ and member of the FACCE-JPI Stakeholder Advisory Board.

The European Technology Platform (ETP) ‘Plants for the Future’ is a stakeholder forum for the plant sector with members from industry, academia and the farming community.

The Plant ETP members come from industry, farmer organisations, and academia stakeholders groups.

It serves as a platform for all stakeholders concerned with plants to provide their views and represent their interests in an open discussion process. It provides a 20-year vision and a short-, medium- and long-term Strategic Research Agenda for Europe’s plant sector setting out a consensus on the research needed to fulfil the vision.

In addition, the platform brings key issues to the attention of European bodies such as the European Commission and the European Parliament. These issues include the growing importance of plants and plant sciences to tackle the future challenges for our societies and the crucial support for efforts to give plants an adequate standing and importance in the public view and the political perception. This future role of plants is best expressed in the vision of a Knowledge-Based Bio-Economy (KBBE), in which plants are a main pillar.

Dr. Karin Metzlaff, Executive Director of the European Plant Science Organisation (EPSO)

EPSO is an independent academic organisation that represents more than 220 research institutes, departments and universities from 30 countries in Europe and beyond. EPSO's mission is to improve the impact and visibility of plant science in Europe, to advice on research strategies (incl. UN SDGs, Bioeconomy, Food 2030, Agricultural Research and Innovation), to provide science advice to policy (incl. agricultural technologies, Nagoya protocol, Convention on Biological Diversity), to promote education of the next generation of scientists and entrepreneurs in the plant sector (breeding, agriculture, horticulture, forestry, ecology, food and non-food sectors) and to engage with society (fostering Responsible Research and Innovation, coordinating the Fascination of Plants Day).

Karin has been the Executive Director of EPSO since its creation in 2001. She works with the EPSO members and partners, including the EPSO Working Groups, to provide advice and recommendations on science strategy and policies to policy makers at European, multinational and national level. Karin is elected member of the Initiative for Science in Europe (ISE) Executive Committee and represents EPSO in the Global Plant Council (GPC). She is also one of the global coordinators of the Fascination of Plants Day (FoPD) and member of the Steering Council and Executive Committee of the ‘Plants for the Future’ ETP.